The Board

The Probation Board is a Non-Departmental Public Body sponsored by the Department of Justice from 12th April 2010 when policing and justice powers were devolved to the Assembly. Prior to that date the Board was sponsored by the Northern Ireland Office.

The Board consists of a Chair, a Deputy Chair and not less than 10 nor more than 18 other members. Appointments to the Board normally run for a term of three years and may be extended for a second term. Only in exceptional circumstances will appointments be extended beyond a second term.